Visit Armenia

How can we help you?


     The Republic of Armenia is located in the northeastern part of the Armenian Highlands, between the Caucasus and Asia Minor, bordered by Azerbaijan, Iran, Turkey and the Republic of Georgia. With an area of 29,800 square kilometers (11,490 square miles), Armenia is just about the size of Belgium.
      The capital city, Yerevan, lies on the bank of Hrazdan River, and is the home of about 1.2 million Armenians. The next three largest cities are Gyumri, Vanadzor and Abovian. Another important city is Echmiadzin, located about 20 miles west of Yerevan, which is the religious centre of the Armenian Apostolic Church and all Armenians.
       Armenia occupies the territory of Armenian Highlands, consequently, its relief is basically mountainous and consists of numerous high mountain ridges (about 47% of the territory), intermountain hollows, extinct volcanic mountains, plateau and plains. Woods occupy 12 percent of the territory. The average altitude of the territory is 1,800 meters above the sea level; the highest peak is Mount Aragats with an altitude of 4,090 meters and the lowest point is 400 meters above the sea level (Debed river).
       Mount Ararat, which was historically part of Armenia, is the highest mountain in the region. Now located in Turkey, but being clearly visible in Armenia, it is regarded by the Armenians as a symbol of their land. Because of this, the mountain is present on the Armenian national emblem today.
     There are more than 200 streams and rivers in Armenia. One of the largest mountain lakes in the world, Lake Sevan, covers an area of 1,400 square kilometers.

The Highest Mountains of Armenia:

Aragats – 4,090 metres above the sea level (the highest point)

Kaputdzhukh – 3,906 m above the sea level

Adzhaak – 3,598 m above the sea level

Spitakasar – 3,555 m above the sea level

Vardenis – 3,522 m above the sea level

The longest rivers of Armenia:

Araks – on the territory of Armenia - 158 km (total length - 1,072 km)

Akhuryan - 186 km

Vorotan – on the territory of Armenia - 119 km (total length - 179 km)

Debed – on the territory of Armenia - 152 km (total length - 178 km)

Razdan - 141 km

Agstev – on the territory of Armenia - 99 km (total length - 133 km)

The main lakes of Armenia:

Lake Sevan - the total surface area is 1400 square kilometers

Lake Arpi - the total surface area is 22 square kilometers

Lake Sev - the total surface area is 2.0 square kilometers

Lake Akna - the total surface is 0.53 square kilometers